Jack James

By JackJames

Silverknowes

After arriving late to my tutorial due to hangover-induced sluggishness and doing a bit of shopping, I settled down to write an essay. Afer about 1000 words I got bored and decided to go on a bike ride in the direction of Crammond before the sun went down.

I went through Haymarket, hoping to get onto the bike path which goes from behind the station along a disused railway track, and so has no cars. Haymarket and the surrounding area is in a bit of a state due to the ongoing tram works; the builders were freindly but useless - one told me the whole bike bath was out of action, and told me to go to towards Broomhouse for Crammond (??) but going 100m up the road I found the entrance.

This is the view inland from the Silverknowes golf club. Behind are amazing views out across the Firth of Forth as far as Queensferry, with Crammond Island in the foreground, but I liked how these block of flats stuck out against the darkening sky. On the way back to a darkroom tutorial I managed to get a puncture, so had to walk back from Haymarket, at rush hour. Could hardly move, and having a bike on the pavement didn't help!

Missed my tutorial in the end, hopefully I'll be able to reschedule - I've still got some undeveloped film from New York 2 years ago, It'll be very interesting to see how they've come out. Silver lining - I get to eat butternut squash soup Maria's making :)

Other photos from today here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.