Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

2011 Challenge : Texture

Former Hamilton Memorial Fountain, Maxwell Park, Glasgow

I've had this shot planned for a while, saving it for the theme this week. I really like the textures in the crumbling fountain basin wall. Built in ornate white "Carrara" stoneware, and sandstone, it was once a splendid French Renaissance-style fountain with four tiers. Only the lower basin remains now, as a display flower bed cared for by the Council gardeners.

Building update : things are coming along swimmingly, literally. I returned home rather late, to hear the noise of flowing water, but the tap wasn't running. I opened the undersink cupboard, to find it flooded and water pouring from the main stopcock. A cry for help to the boss of the building company who was "at his dinner", and within twenty minutes I had a plumber at the door.

Off to deal with the aftermath ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.