A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Attitudes to Alcohol

I find it interesting that when discussions turn to alcohol, that many people around me find it difficult to understand why, or believe me, when I say that I drink very little. People assume that when I am on an occasional night out that I am drunk as a skunk because I am happy, dance, sing, behave like a loony etc. But the reality is that I never drink when I go out on any sort of social - partly because for 10 years of my life I had little choice but to be the designated driver and also, since my operation 3 years ago, alcohol has become my nemesis - the side effects of chronic heartburn and likelihood of being sick as a dog after 1 glass of wine kind of put me off a bit!

Thats not to say that I don't have the odd drink - but on average, it probably works out that I drink 1 or 2 units A MONTH.

And the disbelief when people say "Doesn't it bother you" and I say "not in the slightest" because I was never a 'big' drinker - 1 glass of wine a night was my usual before I had James. And I don't like the loss of control, the potential for making a prat of myself (which I can do perfectly well without booze!) and in a work social (e.g. Christmas 'do') the potential for doing something embarassing in front of colleagues who I subsequently have to line manage!!!!

It intrigues me enormously - and having had this conversation this afternoon with some colleagues, I saw the wine glass and thought I'd use it as my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.