A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Thinking of Grandad

We went to Liverpool today to see the Ark Royal - Jaxter beat me to it (although from the other side of the water) and after taking about 200 photos, I decided that the pictures of the boat (seems such an insignificant word for such a magnificant vessel) weren't the ones that I thought were blip-worthy

We then went to Crosby beach/promenade - a place where I spent a lot of time as a kid and which has a lot of personal memories for me, and also where Antony Gormley's "Another Place" is situated. For those of you who don't know, this is a sculptural installation of 99 'Iron Men' cast from a mould of Antony Gormley's own body. Its such a magnificant thing to see - they are spread along quite an extent of the beach and its often difficult to tell which are real people and which are the Iron Men. The Iron Men are important to me to, because , whilst he could still drive, my dear grandad used to bring a flask down to the beach to go and see The Iron Men. So when I see them, I think of him.

So, for members of my family, you will understand this even more, imagine my surprise when we walk over the brow of the dunes to see this particular Iron Man, dressed in thong and cap. In such as style as it might remind you of Gandhi??? So, Aunty Val ...now the Iron Men remind me of Gramps even more!!!

(for those who aren't family - my cousins used to called gramps "Gandhi" - think it stemmed from a mispronunciation of Grandad when one of them was a 'wee boy')

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.