Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

The Poor Little Happy Tree

Mostly I love my job. Mostly I have good days. Today though was one of those days where I really felt I'd made a difference on at least three separate occasions. I left feeling 'Job well done Debs.' Days like that are fab.

I pass this tree every morning, both on the way to work and also when on the school run. I love this little tree. It produces a terrific display of lime green leaves in the spring which herald the start of longer days, and an even better display of bright yellow leaves in the Autumn, which cheer me up on dreary days.

This little tree makes me smile regularly but I do worry about it. It is planted so close to the wall its growth is surely constrained and I worry about it finding enough water as the soil around walls is generally very dry.

We have the NSPCC to raise concerns about child welfare and the RSPCA to raise concerns about animal welfare. Who should I contact about this tree? The Forestry Commission? Alan Titchmarsh? The Gardener's Question Time team at Radio 4? I must admit I do like the thought of Bunny Guinness launching an appeal on its behalf ;-)

Anyway...I know I'm weird but these things bother me.

I tried the shot in colour initially but although I liked the glowing yellow, it was competing with the bright red bricks of the wall. So I went back and did a B and W conversion instead, which somehow still screams YELLOW, without making your eyes bleed ;-)

**Edit** This was a snatch-shot this morning on the way to work. Now I've seen the square crop on the thumbnail page I will have to return, get closer and shoot for the square. I rather like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.