Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Plotless (clueless???) Writing

My writing took off today.

Here's how:

I lay on the bedroom floor, closed my eyes, breathed deeply and slowly into my belly, held my hands over my ears so that all I could hear was my blood whooshing through my body, breathed out slowly, tried to do that inner eye thing, and there she was - this character. She was unhappy and wanted to tell me why.

So I'm going to let her.

After lunch I had to get back to my OU literature course. There's talk of another assignment. Soon. Too soon.
I have been thinking about what I want to take from this course and it's not high grades (just as well!) it's the delving into other writers' thoughts and styles that I like. I'm not reading course materials with the next assignment in mind, I'm reading them with writing in mind. It may mean I get more from the course but with lower marks. I think the point of education is to get what you need (and want). Good marks are just a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.