LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

The Dunfermline Press

This is our local paper, The Dunfermline Press, first published in 1859. I grew up with 'The Press' and have lots of fond memories of it. When I played boys football starting when I was 10, they used to have the scores in every week and the scorers names. When I was thin, fit and a blessed with a bit of pace, I played on the left wing. If I scored at the weekend, I used to race over the road to buy a paper on the morning it was published and cut out the section. I had a wee purple patch when I played for Wellwood (a little village just on outskirts of town) and I was in it most weeks for a while!

A few years ago, I was in the paper pictured alongside one of my heroes after playing in goals at a charity match against ex-professionals. We lost and a quote in the article told the world about my blunder for the 2nd goal - but it is still part of the scrapbook!

It is also the paper where we write an annual message of rememberance to my dad for the In Memoriam section and where my wee girl's birth was announced. So reading 'The Press' has been quite an emotional experience at times too.

Today, the paper's 8160th edition saw it switch to compact or tabloid format. It had traditionally been a broadsheet which always made it hard to read, especially when you were a wee lad and your arms would get sore holding it out in front of you. So I used to lay it out flat on the kitchen table or on the living room floor to read through it. The blip is today's edition and last week's final edition as a broadsheet.

Verdict on the new format? Think it's great. Especially the photos from our fellow blipper Craig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.