LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Dug out canoe found AD 1781

The inspiration for today's blip comes from an unexpected source. A friend from High School whose mum was one of my teachers at primary school (my favourite teacher too) is the singer in a band called Miss the Occupier.

She posted on her facebook wall that the band were doing a photoshoot on Sunday and were inviting ideas for locations in Glasgow. One of her friends suggested Tontine Lane in the Merchant City and posted up a guide, showing why.

I've walked past this lane during the day loads of time and never realised its potential for photos. There are three neon signs in the lane including this one. The background on it can be found over here. but it refers to an archaeological find on the site.

Most of the lane is currently a building site with works going on, so the other two signs are not switched on but I will definitely be going back when they are. I think there are some great shots to be had during the day too, possibly as black and whites.

Have really enjoyed the last week of blips. The blip at St Pancras is fast becoming my favourite of the 125 so far. Comments on here , facebook and twitter about the photographs have been very kind. I never realised how many of my friends look on here, and follow the blips regularly. Appreciate all the encouragement people give me. Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.