Northern Star

By Lifferz

S'wonderful

I know that this is not the best photo in the world but to me this blip means so so much. I went to a very small gig tonight and got to see Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell. They are wonderful performers- hauntingly beautiful music. Check out their website which you can find by googling.

She sings and plays the fiddle and at one point she played a saw using a bow! He plays a guitar and sings. Perfect harmonies and slow , haunting, melancholy.

I am hoping to see them in Camden in January too.

Tonight I drove and hour up north from my work place and it took me 2 hours to get back cos they closed the motorway but it was so worth it! I went on my own and the concert (part of the Moseley Folk Festival) was in a room above a pub in a place called Kings Heath. The support act was great too.

I felt very conspicuous as I was there on my own and everyone else was with a partner or in a small group of friends. The audience fluctated between 15 and 19 people- so intimate! The performance was one of the best I have experiences and I felt like Lucy was singing to me...I guess there were not that many people for her to sing to but I wondered how many people in the audience own both of their albums and play them to death. They played 'Hares on a mountain' (see it on you tube) which was gorgeous, 'Song for a sweethart' and 'Letters to Lenore' and told us the stories behind their new songs. inclusing one song written in exchange for a pint! Its a hollow song as the man the song is named after (buyer of the pint) was someone the songwriter did not know - so there wasn't much to say about him! It was still wonderful. I felt like I was in an episode of Twin paeks for a good few hours- wonderful staging and lots of red candles all over the place- quite magical! I also feel so proud of myself for doing this on my own- the thought I could have chickened out and missed it really makes me thing about 'grabbing life by the balls' to get the most out of it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.