A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Textures 2

I started refurbishing the seats on these bedroom chairs back in July but only got one done. With a miserable grey morning in prospect I decided to get on and complete the other one.

I originally stripped and reupholstered these chairs before we were married and they have resided in our bedroom for well over 30 years. The first one I did as a furnishing project at college together with a lampshade. (Tiffany style - hand dyed with tea! Now long gone.) They were originally dark stained with a wicker seat which unfortunately I was unable to replace. The seats were covered in the ubiquitous 'Dralon' of the 70's in beige with a braid edging - well at least they weren't purple which was the colour of the age. The glue on the braid had discoloured so I decided it was time for a bit of an update.

I thought they showed some nice variations of texture with the soft sheen of the waxed wood, the shiny brass upholstery tacks and the dual textured fabric.

Now they can go back to being hidden under teddy bears and abandoned clothes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.