Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

I just can't get enough

I've given up buying my team's latest shirt, whether it is football as in Liverpool F.C. or rugby as in Neath R.F.C., but today I received a parcel which contained a football shirt which is prized across the globe. No it's not Barcelona, not even Real Madrid or Liverpool, or the boys from Brazil it is in fact the mighty Tantallon Victoria AFC!

Who? I hear you ask, well I'll tell you. Tantallon Victoria AFC is an amateur club from Scotland that only started in 2009, they play in the Stratchclyde Saturday Morning Football League but they have become an internet phenomenon. It wasn't until I joined the social networking experience did I become aware of them when they started to follow me, and I've not regretted it because they are a great bunch of lads. I feel like a true TallyVic!

I've never met any of them and I've never seen them play, and I may never see them play living in Wales but I follow the ups and downs of the club throughout the season, and believe me it's a roller coaster. We've had some sensational games, high scoring thrillers, dodgy refereeing and just recently a heart breaking loss in a penalty shootout. The excitement as updates come through on Saturday morning is unbelievable; I enjoy them more than updates from Liverpool or any of the teams I support. We even had a Player of the Month award which was carried out over the internet.

Just today there has been a goalkeeper crisis before tomorrow's match, and through the power of social media, requests have been put out for a willing volunteer. You don't get drama like that in the Premier League do you? No because this is proper, real football, football that belongs to the fans and the players because they love the game, not like these overpaid prima donnas who throw a strop and refuse to come on as a substitute in a top European match. Big Joe Cannon our Vice Captain would never do something like that!

As well as Joe we've got some really great characters in the team; Gary Lyle is a tricky winger, David Howatson is the fittest guy in the team (when he's not injured), our Buddhist monk of a keeper is Jonny Brown, Captain is James Kane and co-managers Davie Brown and John Kelsey. I could go on and on if I wanted to. My shirt has our top scorer's name and number on the back; he is no.7 Rocket Richie McQuade. The wee fella is out injured at the moment and is a big loss but he'll be back. So get well soon Richie!

If you've noticed you will have seen me talking about them as "we" that's how much a fan I've become of the team. Only through the power of the web has this been able to happen. So yes cue music "we are TallyVics, say we are TallyVics!" "I just can't get enough, I just can't get enough!"

Thanks Davie Brown you've got me well and truly hooked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.