hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

The Return of the Missing Library Book

I lost a library book in March. People who know me know this is very unlikely. It has been driving me crazy. Under the bed has had an unexpected clean and everything, but nothing to explain it, until two weeks ago....

I plagarise myself (from Facebook) here:
'Picture the scene: I have driven back from Newcastle after a few exciting days at my mum's. I fall asleep reading The Book. James takes The Book from me and puts it on the floor on his side of the bed. This is what I have been insisting on for the last 7 months.
In the morning, James gets up and gets dressed, taking a pair of socks from the bottom drawer next to the bed. The Book is scooped up under the drawer-front overhang, into the book-sized space underneath the drawer, inside the frame of the cabinet. Today the drawer wouldn't shut, so I took it out to check if a pair of socks had fallen out of the back, and voila!'

The staff of Maryhill Library have been very kind: they renewed it for me twice after I lost it, so I could look for it. When I couldn't find it, I paid for the book, but the man told me to keep the receipt, in case I found it.

So today, I got my money back! And you can also see that Janette is a very good sport....

In case you are wondering, I did read the book before returning it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.