earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Towpath

In all its autumn glory (certainly to be recommended!)

I'm happy to report that the birthday boy survived his initiation into the delights of pub-crawling. He arrived home around midnight, a little the worse for wear and distinctly unsteady on his feet, but still able to get himself up the stairs. I let his brother deal with him, and it was actually quite touching how the experienced hand looked after him and made sure he slept in the right position and had everything he needed.

I went through this same experience, of course, but detested the way I felt afterwards so much that it has never been repeated. Why, I ask, would anyone ever do that to themselves more than once? I enjoy my alcohol, and love a few pints of beer or a couple of glasses of wine, and the feeling that comes with them, but this common sense thing always clicks in before that point of no return. Does that make me strange? Mind you, my resistance to alcohol these days is so low that a few pints of beer possibly puts me in the same nice place that my mates require a whole night's drinking to get to! I've become a very cheap date!!

It was an early start at the office and lots of things have been ticked off today. We had a long overdue company meeting this afternoon to plan the next month's work. I'd conveniently forgotten about quite a few small projects that have now come due. Looks like it might be another week or so yet before I can take a short break. Groan.

Very little blipping opportunity today so I was delighted to find the clouds clearing as I went to get my lunchtime sandwich. Just took a short walk along the canal and I think I have finally managed to do the amazing autumn colours some justice. I hope you agree. This was taken just five minutes walk from the office. I really shouldn't groan too much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.