earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Autumn at White Wells

Definitely best viewed large

My youngest son Roam turned eighteen today. Even though he's a good few inches taller than me it still doesn't seem possible that he's now come of age. We went out for lunch in town, joined by his mother (we've not been together for many years now, but we've remained good friends and try to share the important moments in our kid's lives), his brother Forrest, and a couple of their best friends. He's a great lad with a big heart. I'm very proud of him. Neither of my lads have ever given me an ounce of grief really. I feel very lucky. My only gripe is that they are so damn lazy! Is this a universal truth in respect to teenage boys? I worry sometimes that they are not more driven to make the best use of the copious amount of spare time they seem to have as students, but perhaps I should let that go. They might actually have the right idea. I could learn a lot about relaxation from them!

So, now at a legal age to drink, he has headed into Leeds for a night out on the town. Needless to say, I wasn't invited! I was planning to go out on a night ride with the cycling club but events at work have scuppered that and it looks like another evening will be lost to bug-fixing. I did pop up on to the moor before lunch with the aim of capturing some autumn colours, but it's so hard when the sky is overcast. This blipping lark is definitely getting trickier. Starting on May 1st I've had an easy run so far, but now six months in, the second half of the year is certainly going to be more challenging than the first. The limited daylight hours provide for much less opportunity, and the poorer light provides its own difficulties of course. I'm probably going to have to find a way of carrying a tripod on my runs. That will be a true test of my dedication to the blip cause.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.