Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Melancholy

I definitely don't have the "eye" today. I spent much of the day thinking about my mother-in-law and how heartbroken she is by the passing of her only sister. I don't have any siblings, so I probably don't know exactly how she feels, but I know her loss is profound. My husband left this morning to drive to the midway point between here and Alabama (where my MIL now lives), where he will meet his brother and mother. My brother in law will return to Alabama tomorrow and Willie will drive his mom back here.

The viewing will be on Monday, the funeral on Tuesday. My mother-in-law will stay with us for as long as she wants, hopefully long enough to start to heal a little. I've got the guest room ready for her, and have stocked up on some groceries - I must make sure she eats.

This picture seemed fitting today - the little sparrow looks strangely melancholy to me ... or perhaps I am just imagining things. I saw a couple of woodpeckers today, and even got some okay shots of them, but they seemed a little too gay for the day.

I am going to mix up a batch of No Knead Bread dough and let it "brew" overnight - maybe some fresh baked bread will help raise my mother-in-laws spirits tomorrow!

It is so strange that we were in Maine yesterday and now ... back in NJ.

Oh, goodness, I'm rambling! Time for a glass of wine, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.