Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yoga Wren

My mother-in-law and hubby are still enroute from Virginia, about 5 hours out. I have been restless all day - cleaned, made meat sauce, bread in the oven, and still at loose ends. So, I decided to wander around our yard and woods and clean up some of the debris left from last weeks' snow storm. We had a lot of very large branches down, some I could move, others were too big and heavy. Got most of them cleaned up, though.

Decided that sitting on the deck in the sun, sipping tea and watching the birds would be relaxing. I have a whole flock of house finches and the ever-present and inquisitive titmice, nuthatches and chickadees. A couple of Downy Woodpeckers are starting to show up regularly also. And, today, this little Carolina Wren showed up! Beautiful little bird, smaller than the chickadees and apparently a suet eater. I was able to get off a few quick shots and decided that I liked this one. Looks to me as if he is doing yoga. It made me smile, and I needed a smile. I am hoping it will make my mother in law smile too.

Thank you for all the nice notes and good thoughts about Aunt Rosie. And, SeaGypsy, special thanks for the beautiful poem - what a wonderful verse and so comforting. I am lucky that I have always had a great relationship with my mother in law. I hope that I can help ease her pain during these next few days and weeks. I feel very protective about her, which is kind of funny since I've never had kids. But I feel a strong desire to wrap her in a protective embrace.

I hope my little wren brings a smile to your face too.

Signing off from New Jersey...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.