Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gotcha!

We are heading to Queens for a couple of days for Aunt Rosie's funeral, so I filled the feeders this morning and went up the ridge to check the suet feeders. Imagine my surprise when I got within 10 feet and realized that this little downy woodpecker was happily feasting away. I spent a few minutes with him before he retreated to higher branch. If you must know, I was talking with him about life. He didn't have much to add to the conversation, but at least he was a good listener. And, unlike the jays, he didn't talk with his mouth full.

Frankly, it was a nice couple of minutes of total serenity for me. I've never owned a pet bird, nor do I have any desire to, but watching the wild birds is incredibly calming and soothing to me. I do wish they wouldn't poop in the bird bath though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.