40

Big change of plans for my birthday. One of our cats got a bladder infection overnight and Jo was quite distressed about leaving him overnight when we went to the country. Luckily Jo knew what to do and used her vet nurse skills to medicate him. I decided that it wasn't worth the bother going away.

So everything turned into a surprise today. Firstly Jo gave me an iPod for my birthday. I have wanted one for a while and now I have a massive amound of storage for my music. Now I need a new stereo for my car to play directly from my iPod.

Second surprise was breakfast at the Manly Hotel. Free for me because I am a member there. I hardly ever take advantage of my membership, not being a gambler but today I did.

Third surprise. I won a photo competition the other day. That wasn't the surprise though. The actual surprise was seeing my frames picture in a shop window. There will me more about that in a few weeks. Watch this space.

Fourth surprise. My mate Brad took me carting this afternoon. It was a blast and yes, that is me in the picture. The carts were surprisingly fast. The only downer was that I got black flagged for crashing. Bummer! Well I suppose I earned it. I took out another driver into a corner. BTW, I took my own helmet!

Tonight we are going out for dinner with our friends Kathie, Brad and their daughter Olivia. I have some Sambuca and I might make everyone (except the driver) do a shot before we go.

Tomorrow is the Queens Birthday public holiday here. Strange that Australians celebrate a royal birthday when most of us would prefer to become a republic. Hey, I get a long weekend on my birthday most years so I am not complaining. May Her Majesty live forever.

Canadian F1GP tonight. Lewis Hamilton certainly seems to be on fire. I am predicting a lot of pace cars and crashes. Looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.