Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Bloomsbury II

On Oct 27th I posted a blip called Bloomsbury I to explain some of the literature and art that interests me from the Bloomsbury group in England. I'm not going to repeat it, but if you are interested you can look at that description. I also said I had more "stuff" at my cabin in the Gulf Islands. Today was a beautiful day here and I went out looking for the winter ducks - but didn't see many, so decided this was the "Bloomsbury II" still life day. Here are more books, including many of the magazines that were published about Charleston and the Bloomsbury characters. I met someone who is now a friend at a Charleston fundraiser once who said she had something I had to have and proceeded to bring me this great fabric -it's a copy of an Omega Workshop (1913-1919)fabric called West Wind (used to cover a chair at Charleston) that was remade in the 80's in a different color by Laura Ashley. I covered a chair and made pillows for our cabin. The tile is by Quentin Bell, Vanessa's son, and the vase, bowl and cup are from the Charleston shop (some gifts..)in the manner of those decorative items produced by the Bloomsbury artists. The poster is a picture of the fireplace in Duncan Grant's studio at Charleston Farmhouse in E. Sussex. ( I think I miswrote about the poster in Bloomsbury I - it's in another room at Charleston). These decorative arts were certainly an inspiration for many of the painted surfaces (floors, doors, furniture)in my cabin on the island - I like their lighthearted attitude - nothing is too precious.

Whew, maybe that is too confusing..... tomorrow --back to nature!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.