The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Fireworks

I dropped down to the Arnside Promenade as the sun was setting. I left it too late to see the sun sink into the cloud, but I was just in time for this extraordinary light effect. This literally lasted long enough for a rapid burst of about 6 frames, then the yellow colouration rapidly faded. There is something in the sky that I didn't notice until I downloaded the photographs this evening - you may need to go large to spot it.

What a wonderful, bright and still Autumn day. I spent a bit of time at Leighton Moss in the morning otter hunting, but with no joy. The quest continues. I did meet two fellows with the biggest camera lenses I've ever seen. One had a 300-800 mm lens that looked like a surface to air missile, with which he was hoping to get a shot of a bearded tit. My lens looked decidely miniature next to it, but when a robin appeared and perched on a post next to us, at least I was able to get some acceptable shots whereas he had no chance. And the bearded tits didn't show. Lens envy? No, no, no.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.