Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

the day i crashed the car

Remember, remember the 5th of November. I will now. Last night i crashed a car, it went beyond scary, not least because my 9 year old son was in the car too. We are sore, stiff and my head won't stop reliving the fear of it but we are safe. I owe loads of thankyous.

i clipped a verge, swerved, failed to control it, then the swerving took on its own momentum, i swerved onto oncoming traffic, missing cars only by some higher power, then went off the road. Bang. Crashed into road sign, boulders and ended up wedged sideways in a ditch, radio still playing, sam screaming then suddenly going quiet. Smell of electrical burning and climbed out of car, it's so difficult to open door upwards against gravity, I got out, I got sam out. Then the help poured in.

This wonderful man, with the calmest of natures, stopped and helped us, phoned the emergency services and it went from there. In between my fits of shaking and tears and wanting to hug sam every second, the kind man and I thanked and turned away all the rest of folk who stopped to help - all nationalities. I never got the kind mans name. Ambulance lady was so kind and great with sam, as were police with me - they event tried to joke with me but i was still in stunned rabbit mode -, my mum and dad who came to pick up dave and tess from the fireworks (where i was on route to) were brilliant and then helped us out to get home - granda bought us chocolate and mum made the tea. Dave stayed behind to organise the tow truck.

So thankful for the help, so thankful we are okay.

Not much sleep last night and wanted to cuddle sam all the night and wrap him in cotton wool. Worried dave's car is a lost cause, will find out tomorrow. And have to pay the council for the sign!! Could have been so much worse, if i'd hit the other cars, if the impact was worse, if we were hurt - could go stir crazy on what if's.

Lots of tea today, chocolate buscuits.....and i'm going to tidy sam's room for him........in between the fits of tears.

Drive safe and slow in the dark nights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.