Tomorrowland

By alexschief

So today was cupfinalen between Ålesund and Bergen that I mentioned on Friday's write-up. I live within earshot of Ullevål Stadion, the national stadium of Norway where the match was played. I didn't think about getting tickets until too late; but just after the match got underway I walked down to the stadium and caught most of the game at the pizza place right outside.

I also wandered around the stadium, and watched small pieces of the game from different gates. It was incredible to me how close I could get to the field; even if there was a chain link fence between me and the game, people were going through the fence all the time. If I had really wanted to, I probably could've snuck in; the security guards you see in this shot were more interested in the match than a few random people looking in. That would never fly in the United States, I probably would've been arrested for getting as close as I did here.

And then there was the game, a close, back and forth affair between two very evenly matched teams. Ålesund got a lucky early goal after a deflection sent the Brann keeper the wrong way, then put in another one just before half that put them up 2-1. Brann was on offense for most of the second half, but Ålesund's defensive organization was quite good, and they never allowed their opponents any space on the attack, while getting quite a bit of it on the Brann end. Some last gasp chances for Brann went wanting, and Ålesund ran out the clock with substitutions, seeing through the win by that 2-1 score. I was cheering for Ålesund, their colors are identical to those of my college, and I've met some nice fans of theirs, so I was happy with the result. Fun game!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.