LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

In Safe Hands?

I am back playing in goals on a Sunday night. I still really enjoy playing, possibly not as keen as I was a few years ago, but still nice escapism for a while and the lads in our team are a good bunch. Some have been lifelong friends, others I've met through the team.

These days the injuries are far too frequent and take longer to recover from and some of them never really go away - a few of my fingers still feel like matchsticks after an injury a few months back!

Average age of our team is probably mid-thirties and we are sometimes playing teams in late teens-early twenties. But most of the time, we are still competitive and if the opposition are too quick, skilful and have more energy than us, there are always those 'strategic fouls and tackles' to fall back on!

This blip is the best pair of gloves I have owned for many a year. Got them as a present from work colleagues a few years ago. Great design, fit well and whilst they have clearly seen better days, I am reluctant to replace them (they smell pretty bad too, I must admit!).

The names and initials in pen have been added by me. A few people who mean a lot to me and who are good people to have in your corner when you are looking for a wee bit inspiration.

PS. We lost tonight, 2-1 in the cup....concentrating firmly on the league now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.