LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Celtic 125

Celtic Football Club celebrates its 125th anniversary today. They play Barcelona, arguably the best team I have ever seen play live, in the Champions League tomorrow. My grandfather played for the club in the 30s, something I am incredibly proud of. I was 7 when he died and never got the chance to ask him about his experiences. He was signed from an amateur team, Blairhall, a village team from Fife along with a few other team mates. He made a handful of appearances in the first team before the outbreak of the 2nd World War resulted in cancellation of player registrations and postponement of league and club football. He did play in a New Year Old Firm derby, one of the biggest club games in football, in front of over 100,000 people, I have some photos, news cuttings and things but I would've loved to ask him all about it.

I do have this though, a Glasgow Cup winners medal, which means the world to me. My grandfather gave it to my dad, who in turn gave it to me on my wedding day during the speeches. This gives it extra significance, especially as I remember his words as if they were said yesterday....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.