A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Best laid schemes

This was a brilliant (I thought) idea for a HUBshot*. Find a quiet bit of cyclepath in the low sunshine, hoist bike aloft and snap, an excellent shadow HUBshot.

Several things went wrong with this. Firstly getting my camera into position. Round my neck didn't work, on the ground on mini tripod didn't work. I settled for propped on top of my pannier and crossed my fingers that it didn't fall off.

Unlike my previous girly lift I required the proper upside downness of my bike. Hefting 25 tons** of American steel over head within 10 seconds of pressing the button is quite difficult, as I discovered.

The end result is so rubbish I wasn't sure if I wanted to post it even for a joke. However I like the way I look like the sign on a toilet door. Sums it up rather well!

*Holding Up Bike shot-the current craze on Blips cycling group.
**This is roughly what my bike weighs. Give or take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.