A chef's day...

By chef

One whole year of blipping #christmaspudding

1 year ago today I started blipping. The plan was to blip a food picture every day. Then when I didn't manage it I tried to blip 1 a day from January the 1st. Didn't manage that either! But then I realised that I blip more when I'm in a good mood :-) and less when not so. Anyway, I'm pleased with what I have managed to blip so far and quite surprised at how many different things I have managed to blip. I haven't repeated many dishes or products I don't think.

In a year I have now nearly 150 suscribers and 62000 views. I have been amazed and humbled by the comments from everyone. I love getting comment or suggestion from all over the world. And it pleases me that people on the other side of the planet take time out to look at my pictures.

Today I started making christmas pudding. The recipe I use was given to me by a friend's grandad who was a baker. He gave me the recipe when I first came to England in 1995 and I still use it. The recipe came from his grandmother (I suspect he altered it a little by adding guinness, or maybe not?). Unfortunately he passed away nearly a year ago now aged well over 80. But his spirit will always live on in the christmas pudding as I am intending to use it in the future should I become a full time teacher.

Apart from that today was not so nice. A while ago I did a halloween party for my daughter's friend. I did it at cost for the parents as he fixed my laptop once. I gave them the bill yesterday which was all the costs and now she is querying every little thing on there. So a party which would have cost her well over 300 I managed to do for her for 120. I worked on it for 2 days solid while my daughter was in hospital which were holiday days from work. And now she quibbles and says I should charge less because I shouldn't charge for the petrol to the supermarket which is 10 miles away and I had to go twice. Or that I shouldn't charge for the greaseproof paper I used for baking and lots more. A MASSIVE KICK IN THE TEETH!! to say the least. So, I'm done with favours, no more.

This is the food I did for £6 a head!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.