ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Scottish Pride

Spotted this sticker on a lamppost outside my office this evening. I understand the sentiment completely, but have never been able to whole-heartedly place myself on either side of the border.

I was born (and grew up) in England, but my Dad is Scottish and my Mum is half-Scottish; we spent nearly every holiday during my childhood in Caithness with my Grandparents, and I've now lived in Aberdeen for 4 and a half years. My boy, M, is Scottish, and we are very happy living in the Granite City.

I never know what to say when people ask me my nationality. Yes, technically, I'm English, but I actually feel pretty Scottish. I love love love this part of the world, and am so glad that Scotland and its inhabitants have pretty much accepted me (despite Husky Lugs occasionally asking me to repeat words because I "speak funny").

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.