Shoes.

Last night at 5pm, my boss came up to the office I share with a couple of other girls, and mentioned he had 3 spare tickets for a black tie event tonight. We all jumped at the chance to dress up and take advantage of a nice meal and wine on the house. It meant getting ready in 12 hours, however! This morning I got up super-early to put on a bit of fake tan (so my milk-bottle legs didn't blind anyone if I had to get them out) and sort out my frizzy, curly hair. I had ordered a ball dress for next Friday, my company's Autumn Ball, but luckily it arrived this morning, so I could wear it tonight too. Unfortunately, I was at my secondment office today and had to buy shoes, a bag and a scarf to match a dress I had never seen, or tried on, in my lunchbreak. Luckily it all came together and I felt like a bit of a princess in the first floor-length ball gown I've ever owned, with Kate-Middleton-style nude court shoes and a silvery bag and scarf. The dress was midnight blue with white lace panels at the waist, and couldn't have fitted me better. I was quite delighted!

In 7 days, I'll be back at the exact same venue, in the exact same outfit, for the Autumn Ball. And after my practice run, I'm even more excited!

We had a great evening - a champagne reception (where I bumped into E, who I spent the weekend with - she works in PR and goes to lots of fancy dos like this - and her dress was fab!) followed by speeches, a gorgeous dinner and then lots of wine. The awards were presented in 5 categories and one of the speakers in particular was quite amusing - mainly because I think she'd been enjoying the free booze a little too much! I was on a table with M and V, and a couple of the big bosses at my company, so the conversation was great. A brilliant night.

We caught a taxi back to town, laid on by the events organiser, and I was tucked up in bed by 1am. I'd only had one glass of champagne all night (the wine didn't appeal - sometimes I just don't fancy a drink) so I wasn't even feeling lightheaded. These are my lovely new shoes which were very comfy and stayed on all night. Bring on next Friday now - I need to do some dancing in my new dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.