ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Mr P.

I did it! I challenged myself to take a photo of a stranger in the street, and I accomplished that goal. And I'm pretty pleased with it too! This is Mr P. He actually used to live on the same street as me when I was a student, and I saw him every few days in another flamboyant outfit. Today is actually quite toned-down for him - just a sparkley headband and a rather odd pair of socks teamed with flipflops (uncomfortable!) out of shot. I went out on my lunchbreak to photograph some moustachio'd men for Movember but couldn't pluck up the courage (and was perhaps in the wrong place - lots of rushing businessmen on their lunchbreaks). Feeling rather deflated, I started to walk back to the office, then spotted an entranceway to an abandoned shop which had interesting light and graffiti. I decided to just wait another two minutes, and lo and behold: Mr P arrived. As he walked towards me I smiled, and he smiled back (toothlessly). Winner! I asked his name, and then asked for a photo - and then he asked me if I would let him buy me coffee. I would have done normally, but I was needing to get back to the office and had to rush away. I felt bad, and will definitely offer him a coffee the next time I see him. The language barrier (and the fact he had no teeth) is a slight problem, but I'm sure I can work round it!

After work, I headed out with some office folk plus M to see Argo - what a fantastic film! Definitely worth a watch; I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I don't even like Ben Affleck that much - but he was truly awesome in this film (as well as producing it). 10/10 for me.

M had a bad day at work today. After all my gushing yesterday, he's run into problems with the higher management over in America and promises that were made to him are being broken. It's sad, as he's done so well he deserves to be treated better. I hope he can sort it out, he looked so tired and stressed tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.