Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Accomplishment.

What was today?

Well, it started off by going into the main campus to try and get a staff ID. Not so useful to be without one if you are in a locked down facility - and the loos are on the other side of the locked door. Most of us stopped having to ask every time we needed to go by the time we were in primary school!

A bit of light relief followed while we tried to get passport photos from the booth in the concourse. OMG does the daft woman have to speak so loudly? I suppose it makes sense for the hard of hearing, but everybody in the place heard her tell us to raise the seat, not to smile or open our mouths, remove headgear and to make sure there was no hair over our faces (particularly relevant to the man)!

Then it was in to work to try and get my head around health and safety, equal opportunities and finally some ethics paperwork that need dealt with. Some of it got done, some of it just left my head in a spin. (It may be something to do with the computer glasses and the monitor's position but personally I think it might be more to do with the endless number of regulatory bodies, contacts and acronyms.

I guess one day it'll all make sense and everything will be crystal clear, but for now I remain baffled and bemused. Still, I should be able to go to the loo on my own in a couple of days time. That has to symbolize something about my return to the grown up world!

PS Comfortable shoes were worn... and appreciated today!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.