Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Another 1st attempt.

Best viewed with room lights out/dimmed.

Way way way back when, I spotted a funny effect caused by the glass above the bathroom door.

Anybody old/ancient enough may remember, around the '60s there was a pattern of translucent glass which resembled a coarse woven cloth, with, scattered over the surface, apparently at random, raised pimples a bit like half a Lentil.

I just happened to see an old, filament type bulb, through the glass and it sort of resembled the ''Sea gooseberry'': tiny fluorescent jelly-fish(?) about 1'' or 2.5cm diam.

Many, many, many, years later I am the proud possessor of a laser.
(Hands up all those who know it's stands for
Light Amplification (by) Stimulated Emission (of) Radiation)
Hands up all those who are aware that ''Nobody loves a smart-arse.''? And still I do it.

You know the sort of thing, on a rule-cum-spirit-level.
I got to wondering what the effect would be of shining said laser through the glass.

Well... This is the effect.

I've yet to find out if it's the body of the glass, or if it must be one of the lenses.
I, also, have to try again after my 18-55mm lens is repaired/replaced. I believe I pointed out recently that they don't bounce.
THEN I might get a decent shot, without sitting on the ''Throne'' and leaning back past the cistern to get as far from the other wall as possible: to accommodate the 70-300mm ''TELE-MACRO'' lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.