2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Liverworts - and realising how much I've forgotten

About 30 years ago, I could have drawn a diagram to show the complicated life cycle of leafy liverworts and labelled all the bits. I had a revision lesson a couple of years ago when I helped to proof-read a field guide to bryophytes. Most of this knowledge has now disappeared into the ether but at least I can still recognize them....and remember that the curved structures with the tiny grains in are called gemma cups. The gemmae inside them get washed out by the rain and grow into new liverworts.

Saw more fungi on my walk today but decided to go for something different. I've walked past this bank of liverworts many times over the last year but never taken a close look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.