2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Blurry muntjac

As I started off on my usual walking route, I saw what I thought might be a fox or a dog in a private drive on the opposite side of the road. I stopped and watched and realised that it was a muntjac deer. I've not seen them around work before. I crossed the road, still watching and was getting closer until (just out of the shot), a car came down the drive and startled it off into the bushes. Some men were working in the field along from the drive and I wonder if they had scared it out. Great to see.

In checking that it was a muntjac, I found out that they are also called 'barking deer'. That could explain some of the odd noises we get at home some evenings. We've seen them down by the Thames and much closer to the houses near us. Son number one used to see a small group in a cemetery on his way to school from the top of the bus.

Not a great photo by any means, but it was an interesting spot and I'll be on the look out from now on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.