Time lapse

Tonight I spent rather a lot of time sat in front of my computer, working mostly, but also giggling at comedy on the tv and testing that my laptop would work effectively as an intervalometer (is there such a thing) for my camera. Turns out, it works a treat.

The reason? Tomorrow afternoon, myself and 3 colleagues (Fisherking included) will be spending at least a couple of hours in the food technology room cooking meals for 3 nights (and 5 breakfasts) for 31 visitors who are arriving on Sunday - the Russian Delegation. Effectively, we are going to prepare all of the meals and then freeze them. This way, we can effectively feed each person for less than £10 per person for the whole week. Buying in bulk definitely pays.

So Jo has the recipes sorted and we shall cook.

But I thought it might be fun to set the camera up in the room and leave it running, taking shots on 5 or 10 second intervals, so that we could then create a time lapse video of getting it all done.

If that works, then I know it will be worthwhile setting it up each day next week to get time lapse images of rehearsals for the show as well.

We'll see.

These 4 shots (out of 240) were my favourites of me, purely for expressions, especially the bottom right.

I have to say that Canon provide excellent free software to do this. The camera was tethered to my laptop via USB cable and in the utilities software that came with the camera, the timing option allowed me to set an interval and a specific number of shots it would take - then it just fired away. So another thing learned and tested. I wonder what's next?!

batteries are charged, power leads are packed. We're all set to go...tomorrow is the start of the very busy fortnight and I'm still pondering how we're going to get it all done...but I'm sure we will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.