Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Unlikely Newspaper!

What, you may wonder, is a copy of the Daily Mirror doing in our house?

Those of you who know us at all, will certainly not have us pegged as Mirror readers - in fact, we're not newspaper readers at all, except on occasions of great import, or at someone else's house, or when we happen to be given a newspaper free with something.

This paper belongs to the Wonderspouse. He bought it for the X-Factor story. Yes, really!

A few weeks ago, I spent a Saturday evening out with friends. When I got home I asked the Wonderspouse if he'd had a pleasant evening home alone, and he said that it was wonderful, because he'd got to watch the whole of the X-Factor, which was brilliant!

And so, I discovered that my husband ADORES the X-Factor. He'd previously kept quiet about it because he said he didn't think I'd want to watch it!

To be honest, I don't really care much either way. The only time I've watched it in the past was when my mum rang up and said that the grandson of a friend of ours was in it (he's in a boy band called One Direction - the grandson, that is, not the friend).

However, since I found out the Wonderspouse loves it so much (he's not sure why, but he really is enthralled by it), it's been added to the viewing schedule.

And when a young boy with very woolly hair and (so they say) a tattooed posterior departed the show, the Wonderspouse went out and bought a tabloid newspaper in order to read the grisly details of whatever the young lad is supposed to have done wrong! It's certainly not the sort of reading material he usually brings home with him!

Even after nearly 10 years of marriage, he's full of surprises, but the wonderful thing about it all is that if he wants to watch the X-Factor then I'm happy to because it makes him happy, and in return he copes happily with my crazinesses - musical instruments, small animals, constant Open University studying, and so on. Our house is an open, tolerant and relaxed place as a consequence, which makes life much easier!

Anyway, today has been a working at home day. Most of the day has been spent in my study, with the accompaniment of Rostropovich playing Haydn's Cello Concertos on repeat, and occasional gentle crunching and shuffling noises from the rodents! I've done quite a lot of those sort of niggly jobs from my list - changing light bulbs, washing, e-mails (my inbox is now 400 messages lighter), and now it's time to do viola practice and write up my lesson planning for tomorrow!

If I'm really stuck for something to do, there's always a copy of yesterday's Daily Mirror to read!!!!

I backblipped for yesterday - I was going to upload it last night but fell asleep instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.