Add a dash of adventure..

By Melasaurus

Pumpkin & cream cheese muffins

I had to come up with a US-themed breakfast for one of the blog challenges that I take part in. I won't bore you with my (rather convoluted) thought process, but I was originally going to make pumpkin pancakes. And then I got distracted by a pumpkin and cream cheese muffin recipe and made these instead. There's a layer of cream cheese hidden in the middle of each muffin, and they're totally delicious, a bit like pumpkin pie in a muffin.

To continue on with the US theme, I went to see The Help today with my mum. It's an excellent film, and I'd really recommend watching it if you can (I haven't read the book that it's based on, but I've heard that it's a very faithful adaptation and I definitely intend to get hold of it and read it). I only have one complaint... Listening to accents from the Deep South for 2h30 (it's quite a long film, but doesn't feel like it) resulted in my delightful Southern drawl attempting to resurrect itself. Perhaps now would be a good time to mention that my accent is currently a fairly generic British accent and, being British and French, there's no way I should have a Southern drawl anyway. But, due to my dad's job, we happened to live in Louisiana when I learnt to talk. Whilst I've (mostly) lost the drawl, it occasionally rears its (rather ridiculous-sounding) head, often when I'm surrounded by Americans for long periods of time.

I wasn't expecting a film to result in a situation where I've lost count of the number of times I've said "y'all" this evening and am really craving Southern fried chicken.

Hopefully some sleep will sort my accent out...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.