While on my runs

By waipushrink

Kaitiaki is hunting

Another early morning run; something I mostly enjoy. And these days of running for enjoyment and fitness rather than as training for competition, if I don't feel like a morning run (like yesterday) I will do one later. As the sunrise gets earlier and earlier, it is harder and harder to get to a good place for a picture before the sun is too high.

This morning, there were so few clouds, that having missed the actual sunrise, I was just faced with a dazzling ball of light. On my way to the Auckland Domain I tried for some interesting shots of the container wharf with Rangitoto beyond, and was actually quite pleased with one.

In the Domain, I remembered the 2004 sculpture by Fred Graham (Kaitiaki), and thought that it would be hit by the still low and golden rays of the sun. Although it was, I have chosen to crop the picture to produce this effect of a giant hawk like bird threatening the towers of money in the central city. The description of the sculpture in the site about sculpture in the Auckland Domain includes these words:

The enormous swooping steel bird, dark against the sky, may seem threatening, but  conveys the the strength that makes the hawk a powerful guardian of the land.

The world is seeing the actions of the children of Kaitiaki "threatening" (by questioning) the established order. This is an offering of a symbol in support.

The day ended with S and I spending almost all our total weekly TV time watching a programme on humans living in harmony with and containing the power of rivers. I kept an eye on the sunset and did get some lovely shots, but this trumped all other pictures today.

In February I posted another view  of Kaitiaki.

Kaitiaki is a term for the Maori concept of guardianship, for the sky, the sea, and the land. A kaitiaki is a guardian, and the process and practices of looking after the environment are referred to as kaitiakitanga. Increasingly within New Zealand kaitiaki encompasses trusteeship and guardianship in many public service settings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.