Frontier

By Frontier

Invisible Electricity

Photek - Ni Ten Ichi Ryu (TeeBee Remix)

My friend and I were having a conversation about art. He's a wordsmith and very much in love with the art of language and translation. It's a fascinating subject to which I'm sorely lacking in any finesse. We were discussing the idea of translation in depth and he defined his love in the bizarre space between the original text and the translated text. There are an extraordinary amount of factors involved when trying to translate a sentence. Cultural context, the arch of the text and its tone, amongst many others. More often than not, and as you can already imagine, there is much lost in translation. Often the image of a word which is quaint in one culture is regarded as something more in another.

On a slightly different topic, as many anime nerds constantly barrage me with their undying love for Cowboy Bebop and the like, it's honestly not particularly popular here. Not that I can try to find anyway. The amount of anime that is popular would never hit the shores of Australia, there's too much of a cultural divide. However, it is possible to convey the feeling more effectively with excellent translation. My friend enjoys the succinctness of contextual equilibrium, even though it only lasts for the most briefest of moments.

I'm a movie person. However, I completely appreciate my friend's fascination as the same could be said about my fascination for film. In particular, how our views inhabit the same course of enjoyment, is how a film is able to ellicit strong feelings in their chosen audience. "Foreign" films, genre films, remakes, cultural remakes... I enjoy watching a good film, but I love watching a schlock film. The marvel of carefully composed mis en scene (or a poorly misjudged one) is fascinating and it's interesting how audiences are drawn to certain kinds, some that last the test of time, or ones that are notably contemporary. It's an amazing wonder how such things can create the bizarre logic of "appreciation".

Text to audience, audience to text. Two elements conducting heavy amounts of invisible electricity, creating energy that powers... I don't know... worthwhile meaning?

Tried to do something "eleven"ey today. Enjoy your weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.