Pieces of a Jigsaw Puzzle

By szahra

11/11/11

Today was an exciting day. The morning was spent working on my Stanford course. Then I picked up H and we met my Photography Society students at the University. From there, we went to photograph sunset over the Badshahi Mosque. I have blipped the mosque before.

This photo is taken from the Lahore Fort which is opposite the mosque. At the entrance, we met a Sikh Gentleman named Sardar Gurmeet Singh (nick name: Geetu) who was visiting from Winnipeg Canada. He along with thousands of other Sikhs from all over the world head towards Pakistan during the first week of November to celebrate the birthday of Baba Guru Nanak in Nankana Sahib. Afterwards, many head towards Lahore to visit Emperor Ranjit Singh's Mari. This is where he was cremated.

The Sardarji we met was very nice and he asked us if we could speak Punjabi. I said no, we cannot but we can understand Punjabi perfectly. So, he asked us to get a photograph taken with him and then he said that if we are ever in Winnipeg, we should ask for Geetu and come over. I really liked him :)

After this adventure, we headed over to meet my Photography teacher who is a very famous photographer in Pakistan. We chatted with him for over an hour and he gave us many valuable suggestions regarding our society.

Finally, H & I went shopping for some groceries and reached home at 8:30 PM, completely exhausted. I have a tea party tomorrow for which I fixed a few things and have put them in the refrigerator.

Next stop ... my bed ...

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.