Jack James

By JackJames

View from Hound Point

Only had one lecture today, so decided to make the most of it. Pretty horrible weather - grey and cold for the most part.

Cycled down from my house to Haymarket, then along the bike bath to Muirhouse, then along the front to Crammond. After a quick sandwich, I decided to do the extra 6 or so miles along to Queensferry to get some photos of the bridge.

It's an amazingly beautiful route, and I was struggling to choose a blip for tonight - but this one made it because I love this bridge, and captures the wildness out there on the point. This was the alternative blip - slightly calmer!

On the way to Queensferry I went along the coastal route, but the light was getting on the way home, so I took the road route. Navigating along muddy paths on a road bike is difficult at the best of times, and a puncture would be the last thing I needed (I've only just yesterday fixed last weeks!). Wouldn't do it again - have to cycle along the pavement of the A9, which was a bit nerve-wracking. Didn't last for too long, and then back to Marchmont.

The route takes you through some of the poshest looking houses, then though a scub into some of the most run down. Interesting to think how different lives would be just a few hundred meters from one another.

Ended up being 25miles round trip, feeling nice an weathered now.

Other few photos from today here, if interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.