Thor-t it out

8:30pm and home, watching a film with Mrs theWeir.

When away last week, we watched this film, but as it arrived from The Lovefilm list yesterday, we elected to watch it in HD vibrancy. And on the big tv. Still amazed that we have a new tv.

Today was a productive end to what has felt like an unbalanced week for the day-job. So much seems to need done. The brain space required to make sense of getting started and being able to actually deliver is not there.

However, today I shipped a few things out. Done.

Next.

Had the privilege of a car parking space at work. Which I wouldn't normally take, but had a post-work appointment requiring four-wheeled transport. To balance lack of cycling, arrived at work for 6:55 and went for a run. It was 13 deg Celsius. At that time of the morning? It's November!?

Anyway, struck by a couple of things during the film (which was really enjoyable, cleverly written - screenplay and story).

There's moments of parallel to the messianic call of Jesus. A point where Thor chooses to lay down his life for his friends. It's significant in his character. Which isn't a surprise. It would be significant for anyone.

But what struck me was that Jesus didn't need to repent - or turn away - from pride or selfish ambition.

He was always on a collision course with the cross. And bringing resurrection. He did, however, choose.

And He my faith is in that choice to lay down his life mean that I can really live.

I might have felt barely alive this week, but that too will pass. He is my life. And my salvation.

He is my hiding place.

It's not Greek mythology. It's not based on a whim, but a witness in my spirit and an expression of my faith.

And all that from watching a Hollywood film... Maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.