earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Fell Running

First, thanks for engaging with yesterday's rather rushed blip. The tunnel is a railway arch beside the station at Shipley, which is not really forbidding at all but I thought it was an interesting question to pose. I get very drawn to such places, possibly for deeply symbolic reasons, but, like a lot of you it seems, I'm fascinated by what I will be led to. I'm reminded of a story from my first Cent Cols Challenge, possibly the best day I've ever had on the bike and which had a wonderful tunnel moment, but that will have to wait for another opportunity!

It's been a very hectic 24 hours or so ... which seems to be very much par for the course right now. The only exciting thing to report is my blipmeet last night with the legendary Freespiral (plus most of her amazing family!) at Pictureville in Bradford, where her quite famous brother was giving a talk about his latest two stop-motion animated films. Secret Garden was one of the very first journals I subscribed to here and it was utterly delightful to meet in person someone whom I feel I've grown to know quite well through her beautiful photographs and vivid descriptions of life in the far south west corner of Ireland. I can report that Freespiral is as effervescent in real life as she comes across in her journal. We had a lovely if all too brief chat and a bit of a blip gossip, which was great fun because it involved singing nothing but abundant praise for so many people - possibly including you!

It was probably just as well that I had to get back home to do some urgent bug-fixing because I fear I was monopolising her company to the exclusion of everyone else! This should have been a relaxing weekend, but last-minute hiccups with the new software have tied me to the computer pretty much all day ... and it's been a quite beautiful day too. I did go for a short run this morning and chanced upon the competitors in a local fell race. I have to admit that such has been the pressure at work that I'd forgotten all about it. I had a good run in the event last year and felt very envious seeing people competing today. This has been my sport for the twenty years I've lived in Yorkshire. There is nothing quite like the thrill and camaraderie of fell running. Something else to talk about when I have more time. Hopefully this gives some little flavour of it.

With apologies for continuing to be absent from so many of your journals, here's hoping next week will be a little easier and provide more time. Looks like a return to fog tomorrow here. I hope the sun will be shining for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.