Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

A House in the Country

This is towards the end of the track between Hartsop and Hayeswater, Location, Location, Location! There's a lot I could do with a place like this!

A very early start to drive up to Hartsop today, we walked into Threshthwaite Glen and up to Thornthwaite Crag and the iconic Thornthwaite Beacon, round High Street, up to The Knott, down to Hayeswater, past this barn and back to the car.

The weather forecast was good and said no rain, which was right - it didn't rain at all! But the cloud was very low and before long we were walking in clag thick as porridge! It was very atmoshpheric but blipportunities were few and far between. What I thought would be dramatic shots of breaking clouds and glimpses of lakes and mountains were just foggy grey and flat. I'd love to be able to capture landscapes as well as those I often see on here.

No sign of the Golden Eagle today that lives at Kidsty Pike - to be fair he could have been perched on my shoulder and it was so claggy I wouldn't have noticed! I've seen him twice. He's an incredible sight.

But - despite the clag it was a great day out around one of my favourite parts of the Lake District. I've lost count how many times I've trod foot on High Street from every direction imaginable, and I've set camp at Hayeswater more times than anywhere else.

Getting out there is good for the soul!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.