wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Yarrrr

On Saturday morning I was sitting in the sun reading my book, and was struck by the thought "Wouldn't it be nice to have coffee with people today?" So I sent out a text, and coffee was organised with a friend. She only had a short time before other commitments kicked in, so we headed to Villino (arguably the best cafe in town, also where half my coffee nerd friends work). It was guaranteed that we'd bump into other people there - it's that kind of place, and another friend was keen to meet up and go to the market. Sure enough, as I turned up another group of friends was sitting outside in the sun. So Heth and I enjoyed our tea/coffee, and she departed just as Ruth turned up. We joined the group outside, thinking we'd head off to the market after a bit. After a while an offer was made - "Golf?" The guys were heading off to play, but numbers had dropped, and Ruth and I were called in to boost them. Normally I'd think of it as being a bit of a boys time thing, but it seemed like a fun way to spend the afternoon this time around. I'd played once before, and knew I'd be pretty rubbish, but we were assured it would be fine. So we went out to the public golf course, and spent an afternoon chasing balls all over the course. I managed to start and end with the same ball, although had to hunt it down in a little patch of raspberries at one point, but can't believe helmets aren't compulsory for such a dangerous sport - it was quite nerve wracking to cross over another hole.

And of course, being one of those lovely Saturdays, dinner then happened, before drinks with Kath and Matt who were down for the weekend from Canberra. Pretty much an all-round excellent day really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.