6.33 AM

At last we had a relatively clear morning. I was surprised how little snow is left on the mountains. A few days ago I caught a glimpse of them and they were covered down to half way.

There was a fair bit of suspense in getting this shot. I was walking to the farm track I've blipped before. Would I get there before the cloud got in the way? Then three southern black-backed gulls approached, slowly circling their way along the shelter belts. Would they reach the mountains in time? Would I manage to capture them?

Best seen large- you can just see the sheep and the plovers on the track.

The day was fine, but my view of the mountains didn't last the morning out before the clouds took up their usual position in front. There was a light frost, but my tomato plants that I'd left in the greenhouse covered with cloth were unharmed. Last week's frost all but ruined the two grapevines in the greenhouse. The green grape has only two bunches of flower buds left. The black one lost about half of its flowers. I brought the tomatoes inside that night. They are desperate to get into the ground. Some have fruit on already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.