Regine

By Regine

Pre-carnaval

Friday was a special day for a lot of people in the southern part of the Netherlands, as today the carnaval season started! :)
At 11:11 on November 11 the carnaval season starts, and this year was even more special, as it was 11 November 2011 :) nice!

Carnaval is a catholic feast that is celebrated in the southern part of the Netherlands around February or March. For years I didn't participate because my parents didn't like it, so I wasn't brought up with it. But when I was a student I learned to like it ;)

I still don't completely get it, but I do really enjoy it nowadays. And because it was such a special date, I wanted to open the carnaval season the right way! So I dressed myself up as Little Red Riding Hood and went into town with some friends :)

We went to this bar where they were playing carnaval music and where there were more people dressed up :)
The bar is named 'de Pastorie' , I think that means the house of the priest next to the church (if I'm correct). So that is the theme of the bar and it is why it doesn't say 'ladies' on the door of the ladies bathroom, but 'nonnekes' (nuns).

We had a great night, with a few beers and a lot of fun :) I actually wanted to use this picture as a blip, but it was made after midnight, so I couldn't. But it does sums up the evening quite well :) I don't know who the guy with the weird mask is, or why I took his picture. I do know it was taken around the time we were trying to balance glasses of beer on our heads, and failed :) the guy in the background is one of my friends, and yes, he is wearing underwear on his head! ;)

It was a good night, I met a lot of very nice people and ended up the next day with another hangover ;) deserved it, fair and square ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.