LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Smailholm Tower...

'And still I thought that shatter'd tower
The mightiest work of human power'

Sir Walter Scott, Marmion, 1808


I was up early this morning, sorted out my dinner and threw it all in the slow cooker... lovely! Boeuf bourguignon shall await my return! Yum!

The weather looked as though it was going to brighten up so I decided that I would drive down to Duns and pay my respects to my friend Liz who died two years ago. She was really my Mum's friend first, they were in the maternity ward together when her eldest son and I were born. We kept in touch and visited as a family when we were kids then over the last 20 years I've visited her on my own. We smoked a lot and drank a lot of tea on those Sunday afternoons! Those were the days. The last time I was due for a visit was the week she died. I drove down on the Sunday and was met with her husband and three sons, she'd passed on the Thursday and understandably he'd forgotten I was coming. Very sad. I miss those Sunday afternoons. So I had one today (minus the fags and tea) with some heather and a spoon instead. I was glad to say hello. I should have been before now to say my goodbyes.

Alas the weather in the Scottish Borders was wet and misty and generally pretty bleak. However, I decided I would explore anyway. A friend told me about Hundy Mundy... on the road to Kelso. It's a natural burial site (I had no idea there was such a thing) but its very pretty, even in the mist. I seem to be spending a lot of time in cemeteries these days... I sort of like dead people, I'm alone but not alone. It made me think about what happens when I go... I've never really been able to decide whether to be buried or cremated, I'm not religious and a non-believer so that sort of place ticked a box for me. Beautiful views and peace and quiet. No fuss, no frills, just a plot in a wood with a marker. I liked it. Morbid topic perhaps but it was so tranquil, I stayed there a while. There are some pics in my Blipfolio.

I did intend to go down to Melrose and have a look at the Abbey but I came across a sign for Smailholm Tower and I was sufficiently curious so went for a peek. There are obviously hundreds of Historic Scotland sites that I need to visit, I think I'm going to see if there's a book that lists them all, not least to satisfy my liking of lists but I love old buildings and this one was quite special, almost in the middle of nowhere but with a farm at the end of the road. It was deserted so I wandered up for a look... it was all closed up so I could only see the outside. Maybe I'll go back in the summer months and have a look inside.

I drove home through Earlston and Lauder and popped in to drop off my washing visit my folks and then came home to my dinner all ready and waiting! Delicious it was too! Now I'm going to watch a movie and then early to bed for my big week at work. Lovely weekend. :O)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.