Gideon plastering

Gideon didn't mind me taking pictures of him, as he put on the first coat of thistle plaster on the new plasterboard of the stud wall. He kindly agreed to finish the job on a Sunday and I was able to watch a skilled artisan at work. He told me what he was doing and why as each of the stages of the process occurred. We also chatted and offered up moments of our life stories, as one does when you only have a few hours together with someone you like.

I have always been in awe of good plasterers, who have to be committed to intense physical effort, as they transfer a mixture of water and some earthy particles onto the vertical surfaces, not withstanding the ceilings that he also fixed.

Synchronistically, he actually knows our valley outside Stroud, as his mum has a house at Frampton Mansell, only a couple of miles further up beyond Chalford. Perhaps I can tempt him to visit there and I can then take him up to the common and show him some frisbee techniques, as he mentioned playing with frisbees was a favourite pastime of his many years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.