that-a-way

I'm not entirely sure what this was or had been but I initially ignored it on the first leg of my protracted lunchwalk even though after I'd popped home (to collect my wallet which was in my walking-shorts rather than the bicycle-shorts (dignified and unposy baggies) which I'd biked to work in) I intended to return via a different route (passing the bicycle shop and getting another pair of elasticated cycling under-shorts seeing as I seem to have terminally mislaid all my existing pairs during the months since I last regularly cycled) and would probably not pass it again. As it happened I had left my keys in my bicycle-shorts in my locker at work though didn't notice this until I was three feet from the flat so had to return to work to get the keys and recorded the strange thing (initially it looked biological (though less obviously so than the whole and undamaged but evidently entirely dead seagull which I almost ran over on Lauriston Place this morning) and was being pecked at by some species of corvid on the return trip) before going back home again to get the wallet by which time there was time only to return to work again rather than go to the bicycle-shop although I now had the real cash with which to buy some lunchfood from a proper shop rather than having to suffer the indignity I suffered in the morning of having to buy a coffee from the concession in the canteen seeing as the only money I had on me was on the cashless catering system even though I despise the terrible things they do to coffee in our work canteen; not having to eat from there at lunchtime made the whole seven-mile back-and-forthness entirely worthwhile, even in the sweatsome heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.