Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Remembrance Sunday : SPK Polish Club, Glasgow

Walking near St George's Cross today, it wasn't the Union Jack that caught my eye, but the Polish flag. Having visited Poland recently, and made many friends there, I decided to investigate. The emblem of the eagle above the doorway features on Polish public buildings.

A very kind man told me this was the SPK Polish Club for ex-service men. The flags were flying for Remembrance Sunday and several of their group had been down at George Square for the service. The Club is situated in Glenfarg Street, near Woodside Halls.

I have seen many memorials in Poland to the war dead, and very recently visited Auschwitz, so I felt it appropriate that this should feature in my entry for Remembrance Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.